Skip to content

KCWC – I’m in. I’m scared. Also, a dress!

April 23, 2012

Okay, so I actually had visions of trying to sew some things for me this week. But instead I’m going to jump on the bandwagon and try to do the Kids Clothing Week Challenge – where basically you commit to spend one hour per day for the next seven days working on sewing some kids’ clothes. There’s apparently no pressure to make 750 things in three days; if I only make one or two things it’s okay – as long as I spend the time. Truthfully Monday is my biggest fear – we run a course here monday nights, and Anika has dance after school for a couple of hours – so it is a really long and busy day, and carving out an hour today is going to be tricky to say the least! But I will give it a shot! I’m trying hard to prioritize balance in my life (i.e. put some value on things that make me happy rather than focusing everything on everyone else until I have nothing left to give – basically the idea that in order to pour out I need to be filled too.) so hopefully doing this will show me what I can accomplish with just one hour a day.

Right!

So I also made a dress last week – the LBB halter dress, to be precise.

I had visions of an outdoor photo shoot with Anika, but then we woke up and it was raining and cold and making the girl hula hoop outside in the cold and rain in a HALTER dress seemed mean. So we hula hooped in the living room instead.

The dress is really cute and I like it – I do have some adjustments to make though. It’s about four inches too wide, so I need to take it in along the sides (right now it’s pinned across the back). I may also put some buttonholes on the upper back hem to tie the straps into, just in case Anika doesn’t like the strings behind her neck.

I’m going to size it on her friend Maliah first though! I want to make her one too. So we’ll see!

Fun pattern – another good one to check out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    April 23, 2012 9:15 pm

    Good call on the hooping inside today – snow, yikes!!;o) Very cute summer dress – nice and girly – in her favourite colour. Good luck with the challenge! Looking forward to seeing your accomplishments:o)

  2. April 24, 2012 1:45 pm

    The KWCW sounds like fun! A challenge is always good… push yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

