Skip to content

KCWC – and for a little variety, a dress for Anika!

April 30, 2012

You know, I would love to be able to come out of KCWC with a big pile of stuff to show you. I really really would.

Sadly, I cannot. I did spend about an hour a day sewing for sure – but I spent the first couple of days sketching some ideas that have been floating around my head for months, trying to capture all of the elements I’ve been thinking about. And then I spent another day or so drafting a pattern for the dress I wanted to make Anika.  And then I spent some more time drafting a pants pattern for Sam.

AND THEN I finally sewed the dress for Anika.

This dress is from Shannon at luvinthemommyhood. She did this sweetheart dress for her daughters, and I thought they were really cute – I loved the heart cutout in the back.

Anika chose these fabrics when we were in Syracuse a couple of weeks ago – it’s a really sweet lightweight seersucker type of fabric. I love the bright pops of colour – way fun for summer.

I didn’t end up following Shannon’s instructions exactly because I had a different vision for the top of the dress – I knew I wanted to use a pieced bodice (with the shoulder pieces) rather than a one piece bodice – I just like how it flows around Anika’s shoulders better when I do it that way.

And as it turns out I apparently now do enough sewing that I don’t actually want to follow instructions when it comes to construction – I just want to start sewing. So that’s what I did.

The heart cutout is an awesome and fun detail – I really love it; it totally makes the dress stand out!

Now, I really admire the bloggers that can do these awesome photo shoots of their kids. I don’t know how they do it, honestly. Because my children? Well, I will tell you for free that Anika is Very Sure about what she wants things to look like. On this particular day they’d been celebrating birthdays at church, so she came back to us hopped up on sugar and sporting a face full of face paint. Awesome. Great combo.

For some reason she was also sure that her brown ugg-style boots were EXACTLY the right thing to wear with this dress. Um. Okay. She had a vision, is my point, and was simply not going to be convinced otherwise. So we went with it – oh well, at least I’ll have an accurate representation later, right??

I used the hand-sewn button loop tutorial that Shannon references in her tutorial – I really like it (though Brandon’s first comment was “Why didn’t you make this elastic??). I do see his point, however I really like this style of buttonhole for this type of dress. The reason is that I was able to offset the loop a little bit so that the fabric overlaps and the top stays a little more rigid. It keeps the heart shape more stable, and I like that.

Awesome dress; awesome tutorial – definitely recommend checking it out! It was fun to do something in woven fabric after playing with knits for so long.

***********************************

Overall I really like the idea of KCWC but I think it fell on a bad week for me. We are still running a course Monday evenings, and Tuesday nights we have a small group from our church here – which is great fun, but this particular week happened to be potluck week, which meant I spent Tuesday barbecuing chicken for 18 instead of sewing. Totally fine, and really fun – but my mind was definitely split this week. I will definitely try it again, but I will try to be better prepared I think – I’d really like to have all of my ideas sketched and patterns drafted BEFORE the challenge starts so that I can really do the week justice next time. Oh well!

************************************

I need brainstorming help here friends. I’m planning Sam’s birthday outfit, and I need a “theme” around the number 2. The crops I’m making him are going to be black and white seersucker with yellow accents, and I need a t-shirt idea. I’ve seen things like No. 2 pencils, which is kind of cute…but I’m looking for more. Ideas?

Thanks for reading!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cal permalink
    April 30, 2012 2:35 pm

    For Sammo t shirt – Pingou? There is always my penguin that sits on my printer. or Post-It notes with things like, where does your essie go, put on your boots…don’t fall!? I imagine bumble bees are not the right note you want to strike. I do happen to love those colours together. And I love Ani’s dress! It’s really sweet, and I have to say, I love the cotton that irons beautifully a bit more than the jerseys – just a personal preference.

  2. April 30, 2012 10:05 pm

    Ani was right about the Ugg boots. That’s what I would’ve worn.

  3. April 30, 2012 10:07 pm

    As for Sammo… 2 of spades? Hm. I like the pencils!!

  4. Hubby permalink
    May 1, 2012 1:39 pm

    I think the dress would be lovely with cowboy boots! Wonder what Anika would make of them…

  5. Sarah permalink
    May 1, 2012 4:50 pm

    Christy!

    This dress is adorable! I’m not exactly sure how I finally stumbled across your awesome pin tuck – but I’m really glad I did 🙂

    How you have time to make such funky pieces – is inspiring – and lady, its impressive.

    Keep well 🙂

    Sm.

  6. May 1, 2012 7:34 pm

    The dress turned out gorgeous! I really like the contrast across the shoulders and that heart…so sweet! I have to tell you I struggle with nice pictures too. I heavily *ahem* bribe to get half way decent pictures. And I usually take around 50…with only 2-3 that are not total disasters.

    Cindy

  7. Angela permalink
    May 2, 2012 6:17 pm

    I don’t know how you do it! It is awesome you can make stuff that Ani likes and adapt it to what she looks good in, etc. Beautiful dress! – Ava approves of the Uggs;0) Ideas for Sam’s birthday outfit? I was just thinking of rhyming words… moo, clue, shoe, tattoo …I got nothing – sorry – I’m sure you’ll come up with something brilliant!

Leave a Reply

