Skip to content

Emergency Sewing

May 8, 2012

Think there isn’t any such thing? THINK AGAIN FRIEND.

This happened last night:

Okay, I guess it wasn’t a *true* emergency, as I had some warning given that her tooth has been loose for awhile. But I was firmly in denial. Dude, I am pretty sure that she only got that tooth YESTERDAY so HOW THE HECK IS IT GONE ALREADY SLOW DOWN TIME NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Ahem.

But yes. Tooth was out, it was 7:30pm, Brandon was at a meeting, and we had no tooth fairy pillow. So. I convinced her to wait to put the tooth under her pillow until TONIGHT, so that “daddy could see it first.”

Then I put her to bed and started sewing. I had visions of a pretty simple square pillow with a little pocket on it. Instead I made this.

Yep, that would be a tooth shaped “girl” pillow, wearing a skirt. What? I found it on Pinterest (of course – pinterest will be the death of me) – tutorial is here. It’s pretty simple to make, though I ended up sewing more than gluing (which is at odds with the tutorial but I prefer it. Obviously, or this blog would be called “gluesticks”.)

It has a pocket in the mouth for the tooth to go.

It has a pocket in the back for the money because it’s easier to fit.

And it has a big loop on top so that hopefully she can be convinced to hang it on her bed post or something instead of actually putting it under her pillow.

She’s pretty attached though – I’m not sure it will happen. I suspect I’ll be doing the “search for pillow in dark” dance later.

Anyway….cross another milestone off the list. Cannot believe how big this kid is getting. Or how tiny this tooth is.

Anyone know the going rate for teeth?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2012 5:11 pm

    Well that is just about the cutest thing ever….Ani, the tooth, the pillow…all of it.

  2. May 8, 2012 10:42 pm

    Your mom says “$200.00”.

  3. Angela permalink
    May 9, 2012 12:11 am

    Eeeek! Craziness:0) They do change so fast! Great pillow idea and good idea about the loop;0) “gluesticks” LOL Sorry I can’t help with the currency of lost teeth…

  4. May 9, 2012 8:25 am

    That is one super cute tooth pillow! The tooth fairy is rather cheap here seeing as we have 4 sets of baby teeth to pay up for. 25 cents is typical but for teeth that have to be pulled by the dentist they’ll get a little more.

  5. Gran permalink
    May 9, 2012 8:33 am

    I saw evidence of said excitement on Skype last night – good for you, to come up with good reason to hold off for a night, while you put this little gem together. It’s pretty cute! Starry eyes… She will be even more beautiful with bigger teeth, that fit her growing self. (I’d probably give her a looney! )

  6. May 9, 2012 8:37 am

    I’m biased, but c’mon…this is cuuute.

  7. Kim permalink
    May 9, 2012 3:27 pm

    Making a last minute tooth fairy pillow for Ani automatically makes you the coolest Mom ever! lol
    I can’t believe she is already losing teeth though- STOP GROWING UP ANI-DA-MANI!

  8. Hubby permalink
    May 25, 2012 11:21 am

    That pillow looks like something from the bear named Jeremy (or if you’re Norwegian, Kolargol).

    A blog named “gluesticks”, I like it. I don’t use gluesticks much, so I’d have to be really creative. Or let Sam be the subject of my content. Sam + gluesticks = woohoo?

Leave a Reply

