Skip to content

Racerback Dress for Anika’s Friend B!

May 12, 2012

Ani had a birthday party to go to today for her friend B who she dances with. We decided rather than get her another toy (I wanted her mother to still like me) we’d pick some fun fabric and make her a dress and some leggings.

As always, Anika picked the fabric and modelled for me!

This is the most recent pattern from LBB and I will tell you that I am in love with it. It’s a GREAT play dress – sews up really easily and very easy to wear.

There is one little oddity with the pattern though – it fits REALLY big. Normally LBB patterns are sized pretty generously, which I love – I would so much rather make something with room to modify or just size down. This one you really need to base off of a chest measurement though – the dress Ani is wearing is actually a size 2-3T, and according to her chest measurement I could have made her an 18-24 month. Since this dress was for her friend B, and her friend is a little taller than Ani I figured I better make the 2-3T. So while I totally recommend this, I would definitely suggest that you take a chest measurement first!

I also modified the curve on the racerback a little bit – I wanted to scoop out the curves a little bit more. Since I am a total dork I used my french curve to follow the curve of the pattern, bringing it in about an inch  at the middle of the curve.

The leggings are made from the LBB leggings pattern. I used 1/8″ elastic to gather the sides a little and then made tabs out of the stripey fabric and sewed them over the gathers.

I am pretty sure I have to make another one of these dresses really soon for Ani – she loved it. But for today it made a great gift for B.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    May 12, 2012 11:21 pm

    Very cute – I love it too! Very comfy and easy to wear.

  2. May 14, 2012 2:05 pm

    It’s adorable! I hope the birthday girl enjoys her new outfit! Where did you find the striped fabric? I really like it.:)

Leave a Reply

