Skip to content

Mothers Day, May Long Weekend, and Other Life Happenings.

May 23, 2012

Woah, is this thing on? I can’t believe I let more than a week go by without a blog post – sorry about that!!

It’s not that I haven’t been doing stuff because I definitely have, and I’ve got LOTS in the works to show you too!

In the meantime, how about a little life catch up?

Mothers Day was lovely. Ish. Mostly lovely. The only downer was that Sam was sick – fairly high fever that wouldn’t quit, so he was a bit of a wet noodle for most of the weekend. (We figured out the following day that he actually had a pretty wicked ear infection. We figured out three days after THAT, that the boy is also allergic to all clarithromycins. Good to know! I figure we should really just flush out ALL of the boy’s allergies before ordering his medic alert bracelet, right??)

So that meant no church for the kids and I, but it was still a nice morning. Anika and Brandon and Sam planted me some flowers (Sam planted Yarrow, and Anika planted Lupines, and both pots are sprouting beautifully now!). I did try to take a picture but couldn’t get the light to work for me – I’ll try again when they are a little bigger.

Anika also planted me this lovely fava bean (yes, I did just say lovely fava bean) at school, which I think is adorable because she is my super special snowflake and EVERYTHING she does is adorable, yes?

I especially like the part where she traced her hand to make the lily flower and curled it into “petals”. The bean took off, and is now residing fairly happily I think in our garden.

After Brandon came home from church we made our annual trip out to a nursery we like in a town not far from here, and stocked up on Stuff For the Yard. I LOVE doing this; it’s the most fun ever. We end up with a fairly eclectic assortment of things, but it’s such great fun. No one can decide on a colour theme so we invariably end up with wild mixes of colours for the flowers…but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Here’s what we put under the tree in our front yard:

This is the purple and white flower. It is pretty. 

This is the orange flower. I totally bought it for the colour – I was completely in love with how vibrant it is.

This is the bright pink one, that used to be attached to the actual plant until Sam watered it for me this morning. He is thorough in his plant love.

This is the yellow guy. Also an awesome, vibrant colour.

Obviously I’m good with names of flowers, yes? Yeah, I don’t know what any of them are really. And if I’m being completely honest, I don’t actually care – I just think they look pretty. All of these flowers are in the bed under our crab apple tree.

Now, I’m hoping that in the next month or so we’ll be able to really get down to business in the front yard. Our front yard faces north, and doesn’t get a whole lot of sun. The ground is hard and tough to do much with – grass has a hard time out there. Also, it’s a townhouse – it’s a pretty narrow strip of lawn all things being equal. So our plan is to basically dig a lot of it up and do a perennial garden out there that will be good in more shade. I’m excited to make that happen.

The backyard is where the magic really happens. If you look back to this post, that’s what our yard looked like midsummer last year. This year I’m trying to get some of the before shots in there – but man, once it starts to heat up things take off fast.

Tomatoes are in….can’t wait for these guys to take off! We only planted four plants this year, but we usually get far more tomatoes than we can use anyway – so I think it will be great!

Beans! Or sugar snap peas! I can’t actually remember what got planted here. But it will be exciting I’m sure.

Basil’s in….yahoo!

Blueberry bush #1 – this is the one that didn’t fruit last year, but it looks like we may be in business this year!

My first ever jalapeno plant that I convinced Brandon to let me buy! Between this, the tomatoes, and the basil, all I have to do is figure out how to grow cheese and I totally have yard pizza happening.

And here is blueberry bush #2 – it’s easily doubled in size this year and has TONS of flowers. Can’t wait to see how this does!

I am excited to see these things grow more – so much fun!!

Last weekend was the long weekend in the great white north (Victoria Day) and we went to visit my mom and dad, to help them open the pool and get some of their planting started. It was an absolutely GORGEOUS weekend, and we had a great time there too.

Pool got opened, flowers got planted, and more importantly, the kids had a blast. So much fun.

There was also scooter riding….

….playing in the yard….

….reading in the hammock…..

….and general silliness!

Anika was a little bit broken up that she couldn’t swim out there yet….next trip!

All in all, a great weekend.

Now we are into the home stretch with school and dance. Anika had her last dance classes on Monday, and she’s got dress rehearsals on Saturday and Tuesday of next week….then come the performances! So definitely look for pictures of that in the next week or so.

I’ve been doing some sewing too, and am excited to show you what I’ve come up with. I also have some big DIY plans for the yard (think not so attractive picnic table made pretty…I’m cautiously optimistic!). So I am looking forward to showing you that too.

Also – who’s in for a summer styles hair week? Interested? I have a handful of new styles I’ve been playing with lately, all of which are great for summer. We’ll try that out in June!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2012 3:24 pm

    The purple ones are pansies and the others are all tuberous begonias! They are gorgeous, and your veggies look very happy and settled. I will send you pics of the gardens we did, as they start to grow too! I am sorry I haven’t done that yet. Kids were so much fun last weekend…xox.

  2. rtravismorton permalink
    May 23, 2012 3:45 pm

    Of course they are, mom. 😉 I desperately want a flower box for my balcony that I can grow herbs in. This is a plan.. one of many..

    That picture of Sam makes me howl.

    And for the record, last Christmas? Totally sitting in Susie’s kitchen trying to figure out how to make my own cheese. Opted out of that one, but doable! I insist!! 😉

  3. May 23, 2012 5:11 pm

    Glad that your mother’s day was lovely(ish)!;) Looks like your plants and garden are growing nicely! I have yet to do anything with our flower beds/vegetable garden…maybe sometime in the few weeks.

  4. Hubby permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:59 am

    Ah if only I had taken pictures of Sam helping me pot the oregano… The boy likes to get his hands dirty. He like to get his feet dirty and well, like you say, “boy: a noise with dirt on it”.

    If the plants survive Sam (especially the watering) they’ll do well 😉

  5. May 28, 2012 9:19 am

    I was like, “THOSE ARE BEGONIAS, DUDE.” Thanks, Mom… 😉 Can’t wait to see you guys next weekend, feel like it’s been forever!!

Leave a Reply

