Skip to content

She lived to tell the tale.

June 1, 2012

You know, sometimes I get into a posting rut where I feel like if I haven’t sewed anything new I shouldn’t really be updating. I realized, however, that after my last post some of you might be under the misguided impression that I was left for dead on the soccer field, like a bug on the windshield.

No! In fact, no! I survived!

I will admit for free that it was a little touch and go for awhile there. Soccer comes complete with surprises! Did you know that? I did not.

SURPRISE THE FIRST: In this league four girls need to be on the field at all times. There were seven girls on the team total, and three were coming late. YOU DO THE MATH.

SURPRISE THE SECOND: You can’t sub off any old time you want to like you can in hockey. There are rules about when you can go off the field. I still do not know what those rules are but pretty much I just got in the habit of asking the ref and he’d say yes or no. Good enough then.

SURPRISE THE THIRD: The league plays full length games. I thought we were doing this for like an hour. Just as I was starting to think “Whew, just a few minutes left! I did it!” they called half time. 45 minute halves. Awesome.

SURPRISE THE FOURTH: Even when there is a lot of rain and thunder and lightning, they don’t appear to call the game. This will make you feel like the mother of the year when you realize that you and your husband are merrily running around the field chasing a ball while your children are HUDDLED UNDER A BLANKET on the sidelines, cowering from the rain. (They are fine, fortunately.)

SURPRISE THE FIFTH – and this one is really a Chevy Chase “If I woke up tomorrow morning with my head sewn to the carpet, I couldn’t be more surprised than I am right now” level of surprise: I liked soccer. I liked it a lot in fact.

Oh make no mistake – I still have no idea what I’m doing – none whatsoever. I end up running A LOT because I have *no* idea about strategy so I can’t really run smart. But it was really really fun. (I still don’t want to touch the ball at all, of course.)

You know, I can’t actually play tonight because Anika’s first dance recital is tonight. And I’m kind of disappointed. I KNOW.

Brandon and I have been talking a lot lately about needing to invest more in the “friendship” part of our relationship – it’s kind of the thing that gets a bit turfed when we’re so busy with the rest of life (work, kids, other stuff). So playing with him is actually really really fun.

Soccer. Who knew?!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    June 1, 2012 1:21 pm

    It’s a shame we don’t have pictures. Next time you play I’ll bring the camera.

  2. Rob permalink
    June 1, 2012 3:36 pm

    Take the camera…need photos. Very proud of you Miss C.

  3. June 1, 2012 3:40 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad that you had a great time playing and that it’s something you’re going to keep doing. And yes, we must have pictures!!

Leave a Reply

