Skip to content

Dancing Queen

June 4, 2012

We have survived dance recital weekend 2012. No wait – that was not enough fanfare. WE HAVE SURVIVED DANCE RECITAL WEEKEND 2012!!! WHOOO YEAAAH!!!

It’s really awesome, actually. These recitals are something else – there is some incredible dancing (particularly by the older kids, but the small ones are also SUPER CUTE).

Anika did a great job this year – I was really proud of her. She was in two dances instead of one (ballet, but also tap this year). It made it a little trickier for us – it’s the first time we’ve had to navigate costume changes – but we managed just fine. Friday night her dances were only 8 numbers apart. That’s a fairly good amount of time, but not crazy long. To qualify for “quick change” (i.e. you get nabbed by a helping mom as soon as you are finished one number, changed into another outfit and then hoofed back on stage) you needed to have 3-6 numbers between your dances. Anika had more than that…but not a lot more. The quick change rule makes perfect sense to me for older kids, but when you are talking about a bunch of 5 year olds, I couldn’t really see getting her down two flights of stairs, changed, and back up before it was time for her second dance. I recruited a helping mom and she suggested I wait for her to come off stage, grab her, and change her in a nearby bathroom.

As it happened, that worked perfectly – and I had time to get back to my seat to see her second number, even though I missed the first. Win! Saturday we got lucky – her dances were before and after intermission, so I had lots of time to get her changed and delivered to her next group.

Enough with the talking – who wants to see pictures?

First I’m sharing the two professional pictures that were taken at one of her dress rehearsals. These are a special level of awesome because they are big on teaching the kids to “smile with their teeth” – it shows up on stage best that way, right?

This would be Anika, kitted out for her tap number, smiling with her teeth.

HOW AWESOME IS THAT?! Smile with your teeth indeed. I kind of think they might have actually told her to talk like a pirate – I can’t be sure.

Also, I will tell you that I adjusted the living daylights out of that costume when I got it home – she’d only just received it that morning and the bodice was a little loose.

Here she is, this time ready for her ballet rehearsal – again with the teeth smiling.

I love it.

I know I’ve talked about this before – last year I’m thinking – but backstage at one of these things is not to be believed. It’s the biggest pile of girls and costumes and hair nets and hairspray and makeup and glitter – it’s really nuts. But somehow it all goes so smoothly, every year. It’s really impressive.

I had my hands full with costumes and stuff this year, so I didn’t bring my camera to the dress rehearsals or the first show. Fortunately for me, my mom was on hand for Saturday’s show, documenting the “getting ready” for the first dance.

First up – hair. I do this before we leave home because I would so much rather have a mirror and a little space to make sure the bun is centered on her head properly!

She’s a little excited.

Next up, head to the place where the dance is happening.

(We are still excited).

Now, we go pretty early – the show started at 2 and we were there just after 12:30. Technically that’s earlier than we needed to be, BUT – it was raining, and parking is kind of at a premium. So we went with it, and these two clowns went to find lunch and a glass of wine before the recital started!


Job one is into the costume – ballet was up first in Saturday’s show.

Tutu on; hair piece coming…

Finally we are all in the costume….so bring on the makeup.

And yes, I am in fact now very skilled at putting eyeliner on a five year old. Awesome. Best mom ever, right here.

Once the makeup was done the girls pretty much just need to hang around and wait until their group is called to go line up. Enter colouring books and doodle buddy on Gran’s iphone.

Shortly before the show started we left her there to go up and find our seats. Here I am, giving some sage words of advice to my daughter. (Probably something enlightening like FOR CRYING OUT LOUD CHILD stop rubbing your eye makeup!)

She appreciates me. Obviously.

I know I kind of laugh at all of the recital craziness…..but the truth is I am so thankful for this dance school and what they are doing for Ani there. She really really loves it, and the teachers are SO kind and SO encouraging. Anika leaves these things with huge amounts of confidence…and she’s starting to get an idea about what she can do if she really works at things. It’s pretty neat to see.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Travis permalink
    June 4, 2012 2:42 pm

    YAY! 😀 Way to go, tiny dancer!! \m/

  2. Angela permalink
    June 4, 2012 6:07 pm

    She looked beautiful! Love that you can see her missing tooth on her teeth smile!:oD so …. I have no idea how to put eyeliner on a 3 year old … Tips? I am scared to death she is going to look like a vamipire. Ani looks fab – you did a great job! Glad everything thing went smoothly.

  3. Suanne C. St. Charles permalink
    June 5, 2012 12:32 pm

    She looks just perfect Christy – you did an awesome job on her makeup. So glad she enjoyed herself so much. That’s the most important part.

  4. June 5, 2012 1:57 pm

    Hahaha! I”m loving the smiling with your teeth photos! It’s like they’ve told a baby kitten to mean — especially with the missing tooth! LOVE it!

  5. June 6, 2012 1:51 pm

    She’s adorable all dolled up for her recital. It’s great that she enjoys dancing so much.

    btw, How’s soccer going?;)

  6. June 9, 2012 7:32 am

    I can’t believe how late I am posting to this, but… GO ANI!!!!! She was soooo good and we were just so proud. And you were pretty incredible too, with all of your hair, makeup and costume wrangling… Whee. Xo / One of the Clowns

Leave a Reply

