Skip to content

Birthday Party, Two-Year-Old Style!

June 17, 2012

You guys know by now how we roll with birthday parties in these parts, right? I love them – I love celebrating my kids, however it comes. Sam has been really kind of a treat because he is a bona fide SUMMER BABY. Well, almost. It’s warm at any rate.

A small digression to talk about dude’s clothes. I made made him a birthday outfit, which was fun – for some reason I really like doing this.

His cropped pants (long shorts?? WHAT ARE THEY?!) are my absolute FAVOURITE. They are a black and white seersucker, and I put cargo pockets on them using this tutorial, which I also love and will be using a lot in the future. I found some soft yellow oxford cloth and used that on the pocket stripes and to line the flap of the pocket, and then I used some dark gray scrap fabric I had to do the middle of the stripes. I absolutely adore how these came out (check out all the topstitching in yellow! Love!).

Except of course, because my kid is SAM, I measured his waist, checked the pants on him, finished sewing them, and a week later they are falling off of him. For crying out loud child – I think he’s been going through a growth spurt and he’s probably just stretching out but COME ON.

His shirt is the 90-minute shirt from here, which I’ve used a lot but somehow I wasn’t thrilled with how it came out this time. The neck seemed a bit too wide, even though I KNOW I’ve adjusted this pattern to a point that I’m happy with – I’m not sure. The only thing I can think is that I used a 1.5″ neck trim instead of a 2″ and maybe that changed something.

Anyway – I painted a yiyan on the shirt and used some embroidery floss and frayed scraps of the yellow oxford cloth to make a mane and tail for the yiyan. Sam was delighted, so good enough for me!!

For his birthday we did exactly what we did last year – we rounded up a bunch of our favourite people and headed out to an absolutely stunning historical park on the Ottawa River. The park is up on a hill overlooking the river (i.e. don’t have to worry about small kids falling into it), so it’s got some lovely breeze even when it’s hot. There’s a playground right beside the site we had, and a charcoal barbecue to cook on. It’s absolutely brilliant, and we love it there.

Boys, playing with fire.

I may not have mentioned it, but one of the especially exciting parts of this party was that Chacha (aka Tim, aka Brandon’s brother) flew in to spend the week with us….and got here just in time for the party!

Technically we brought the wagon to help carry loads from the car to the site….but it turned out to be pretty fun to play in too – for the little kids AND the big kids!

We had old friends reconnecting at the playground for the first while….

….and when that got old we broke out the supply of bubbles we’d bought for the party! (Who doesn’t love bubbles from Walmart? Seriously, WHO?? I bought 20. There were plenty for everyone. AWESOME.)

The birthday boy and his closest pal Aidan chilling in the wagon. You can tell this is still relatively early in the proceedings because Sam’s shirt is still relatively white here.

When the kids got tired of bubbles (and the parents got tired of cleaning soap off of their children), we tapped into a supply of glider airplanes Brandon had VERY INTELLIGENTLY thought to pick up before we left. There were these giant styrofoam numbers, but there were also some smaller foam ones with little rubber band launchers. Best. Fun. Ever.

Anna and Noah, letting it fly.

Even Sammo was in love with the airplanes…though his did get a little bit mangled in his travels.

Then we got down to business and had dinner. We made the party a potluck, which worked out really really well. We supplied burgers, drinks, chips, and frozen watermelon on a stick (more on that in a minute), along with birthday cupcakes. Other people brought salads, veggies, AMAZING chicken, gluten-free chocolate cake (thanks Lisa!) and more. It was absolutely great.

It was a beautiful evening, and a lovely time to spend with so many good friends.

…one of my very favourite dinner moments….Miss Rachel, sitting on her plate. BEST EVER.

Frozen watermelon “popsicles” is something Brandon came up with two years ago, and they have grown in popularity every year. When Sam was born, a very thoughtful relative sent us one of those “edible flower arrangements” made up of different fruit cut on skewers. It was beautiful, and so very thoughtful….but there was just no way we could possibly eat all the fruit before it went bad. So we ended up freezing a ton of it. That’s when we discovered that handing Anika a stick with a frozen chunk of cantaloupe on it was every bit as good as handing her a popsicle or an ice cream cone….but it didn’t drip or melt the way a regular popsicle would, plus, FRUIT. HEALTHY. AWESOME. We froze big chunks of watermelon on popsicle sticks for the kids at Sam’s party, and they were a raging hit. Great fun, and SO EASY. (Step 1: Cut up watermelon. Step 2: Shove in a popsicle stick. Step 3: Stick on cookie sheet. Step 4: Freeze.)

Finally, it was time for cupcakes. We all sang to Sammo, and he was not entirely sure he was happy about that. He was, however, VERY sure that he liked his cupcake. He was quite broken up when no one would agree to give him another one. He kept asking, rather forlornly “Muh more cucake? Muh moe? Peese? Muh moe happy birbay?”

These two lovely girls never fail to kill me…watching them together is just…awesome. They’ve been friends since birth, quite literally, and to see them still so connected to each other and happy with each other….it’s so wonderful.

They really love each other.

But of course it’s this little man that we were celebrating, and I’m totally in awe of the fact that he is two now. TWO. I can’t quite believe how fast the time as gone. I will write a post soon about his past year…there’s so much we’ve learned and so much that he’s grown; I really do want to record it. But for now I’m just in awe of what a beautiful little guy he is. (Don’t get me wrong, he’s a total pain from time to time too. But on the whole he’s learning and he’s a really great kid.)

He had a great day. He cried all the way home, saying “Muh moe?” (one more, for the uninitiated). “Muh moe happy birbay? Muh moe ouside?” I think he liked it. Happy birthday little man.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2012 11:41 pm

    It was great fun! Happy birthday, Sammo! So glad we could be there — our kidlets want to go back and check out that park again!

  2. June 18, 2012 7:49 am

    Looks like an awesome day! Happy Birthday, Sam!

  3. June 18, 2012 2:09 pm

    Happy birthday lovely Sammo! Can’t believe you are two years old already. Sounds like everyone had a great time.

  4. Hubby permalink
    June 18, 2012 3:07 pm

    Forlorn doesn’t begin to describe it… full blown angst, despair and longing. “One more cupcake, it’s my birthday. Please?” Love you kiddoes.

  5. June 18, 2012 3:21 pm

    Heartbreaking and delightful all at once! I wish I could have been there… it looked like a gorgeous day. One more happy birthday, Sammo. xo

  6. June 27, 2012 10:11 am

    holy cow, those pants are PERFECT on him! I love the way you’ve used the pockets. The seersucker is to die for too. I’m going to have to make some seersucker shorts for both of mine ASAP. Thanks so much for sharing the link, I loved seeing this!

    • June 27, 2012 1:38 pm

      Thanks Jessica – and thanks for the tutorial!! I’m so delighted with how they came out; I will be using this lots and lots. And I also loved how the seersucker worked for this! So much fun!

Leave a Reply

