Skip to content

Summer Hair Week!

June 25, 2012

Wow. I know right?

Let me tell you about the last week. Well, actually, I’m not going to tell you all about the last week because it’s not all THAT interesting – we were just entertaining visitors and helping said visitors purchase cars and making impromptu (very short) trips to visit OTHER relatives – it was like that. But fun!

I’ve been doing some sewing, though not as much as I’d like, and I’ve got a few projects lined up including some honest to goodness selfish sewing (i.e. stuff for ME) to share with you – but I thought we’d ease back into this thing by looking at some really fun summer hairstyles.

I held off doing the summer hair week, because frankly I haven’t made time to have my hair cut and coloured since, oh, December. I was hoping to get a trim in and fix the three inches of roots. Sadly, that has not yet happened, which means that you get to look at these styles and then be absolutely confident that when YOU try them, they will look so much better on YOU. See how I help??

Summer hair is all about the easy – fun braids that keep it out of your face; styles you can do to just get it up and off your neck so it’s not as hot. I thought I’d take this week to show you five really easy and fun summer hair styles. Sound good?

Up first is the boho braid. (Also, I do not know why my face looks all orange in this picture. I am wearing sunscreen, I promise. I would like to blame it on poorly applied makeup but the truth is that I was also too lazy to put any on. I wish to assure you all that I am not orange in real life. Thank you, the management.)

You know this one; it’s everywhere. You can do it on your hairline; or a bit further back. You can do it with bangs or without; with shorter or longer hair. It looks great with wavy hair or straight. It’s an easy way to get your hair off of your face and out of your way – and it looks really pretty!

So how do you do it? There are lots of ways – basically all you are doing is french braiding the front part of your hair across your hairline (or just back from it, depending on your preference).

My favourite way to do it is the way shown in this tutorial here. What I love about it is that the braid stands out more – because you reverse braid it, or braid it underhand, or whatever it is you want to call it – it just means instead of bringing the side pieces over into the middle, you bring them under. The video on that tutorial shows it really well – and Abby’s blog is a GREAT resource for hairstyles, so check it out!

The other great thing about braiding it this way is that you can make the braid look REALLY big and fun, even if you are like me and have not a whole lot of hair! All you have to do is gently tug on each of the loops after you’ve put the elastic in – and you’ll be amazed at how big you can get this to look.

I almost always end up setting this a little bit back from my hairline – but truthfully, I do that because I forget until I’m halfway across that I want to TRY it closer to the hairline and then I remember and am too lazy to go back and fix it.

This is quick and so pretty – give it a try!!!

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 3:47 pm

    Is it bad that I immediately tried out this hairstyle?? My sideswept bangs are just a tad too long right now and always hanging in my face…this is a great (and easy!) solution until I get them trimmed in a few weeks. Thanks for sharing!

    • June 25, 2012 4:10 pm

      No. No it is not bad. I TOTALLY do that. And it’s a fantastic “hair out of face” style. Love it!!

  2. Jeannette permalink
    June 25, 2012 9:26 pm

    This hairstyle looks nice (and the other hairstyles look great too!)! (But I think I need more practice French braiding…lol).
    Thanks for the post 🙂

  3. June 26, 2012 1:46 am

    Hey there! 🙂

    I’m currently challenging crafty people to share one of their projects to help people “who think they can’t craft”! Go on my blog for mor informations!!

    And if you’d like to share a project, it would be GREAT!
    It doesn’t have to be a new project, it can just be an old one.
    It just have to be easy, and cheap:)

    Craftily 🙂
    Iris

    GO HERE/
    http://matthewandiris.blogspot.fr/2012/06/so-you-think-you-cant-craft.html

    • June 26, 2012 9:04 am

      Hey Iris!! Thanks for leaving a comment – I will message you on your blog okay? I have one idea :). Thanks for stopping by!

  4. June 26, 2012 8:31 am

    I love it but agree with Jeannette – I need a heckuvalot more practice French braiding!! Show me this weekend?

  5. June 26, 2012 9:56 am

    Hey Christy!! I messaged you on my blog, but just to be sure, Here it is :

    Thank you so much for stopping by. Hair accessory seems GREAT ! I like having different type of craft projects.
    The Deadline for Round 1 is JULY 9 so one week is perfect, no worries!

    A link to your blog would be perfect OR you can send me a Word document at ivmourier@gmail.com.

    I will also ask you to answer 2 or 3 questions (these answers will appear in the post I’ll post about your project). (I’ll send them to you as soon as I have your project)

    Thank you so much! You’re amazing!

    Iris.

Leave a Reply

