Skip to content

Summer Hair Day 4: Braided Crown

June 28, 2012

I really and truly meant to post this earlier today, and I didn’t because I was trying to get a good picture of the style. Despite my best efforts that did not happen. BOO, and I’m sorry, and I will try to update this post tomorrow with a picture of this style in action!

For now, you need to make do with this picture from The Beauty Department.

There are lots of ways to do a braided crown, but I’ve really been loving wearing this one lately because I like where the braids sit on my head – a little further back than some of the other ones. I also like that I can do it without it taking up too much hair. With thinner hair, it’s a problem – with styles like this you kind of want it to look like your hair is down and you just have a little something extra going on….but when you don’t have masses of hair to start with, you can take chunks to braid and wind up with no hair left. Boo.

So this is a really fun look, and though they’ve shown it on wavier hair here, I also wear it with my hair straight and it looks great that way too. Plus, no crazy french braiding skills to worry about.

The full tutorial for the style is here – http://thebeautydepartment.com/2012/05/crown-of-braids/. Go check it out, it’s really fun!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

