Skip to content

Who wants to know how soccer is going??

August 18, 2012

The kids and I are on the road this week – visiting my  mom and dad, while Anika attends art camp. Good times! But no sewing machines. You see my dilemma.

Since you, my lovely readers, were so very supportive of my soccer playing exploits earlier in the summer, I thought you might be interested to know how things are going. Yes? To provide an appropriate update for you I gave Anika her camera during one of our recent games and asked her to document. AWESOME.

Now, first you should understand when you ask Anika to photograph something, sometimes you get pictures that look like this:

and this:

Helpful!

But she actually took some really great shots for us too. I’m leaving the totally skewed orientation of the pictures in place because seriously, how cute is that? Also, I love the five-year old perspective on these shots – soccer, at the field level.

(I succeeded at shoe tying. Hooray!).

In short, I am a solid work in progress. I am less afraid of actually  touching the ball. I am still terrified before the games start but I’m settling into them okay. I’m genuinely sad when I have to miss one – and unfortunately I’ve had to miss the last bunch of them. NOT OKAY. I am really hoping to be able to play on Friday….but that might be our last game. Boo.

I had fun. I might even do it again. Awesome!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    August 19, 2012 2:47 pm

    LOL Glad you are enjoying it! I’m sure you’re better than I would be! Loving Ani’s perspective and slanted shots, really! And, it makes you look like you’re all running uphill, scoring uphill, both ways…:o)

  2. August 19, 2012 2:48 pm

    Having fun and enjoying the time spent playing is the most important part! You definitely have to play again.:)

  3. Robin permalink
    August 20, 2012 1:28 am

    I would be sitting on the sidelines with an oxygen mask. You are doing GREAT!!

  4. Jeannette permalink
    August 20, 2012 8:59 pm

    As I mentioned to you guys on Sunday, I enjoy seeing the game from her perspective 🙂 Very proud of you for getting into the game! 😀

  5. August 28, 2012 8:20 am

    The captions are THE BEST. Now, if you can only not injure yourself… 🙂 Keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

