Skip to content

Grade 1.

September 4, 2012

Hey blog readers! I know I know – I vanished, and I’m sorry. There was a lot of life happening in the last few weeks of summer – parties to plan, trips to take, school to get ready for – lots to catch up on, but first we need to talk about this:

and also this:

Grade 1 today. First day at a new school; first time taking the bus.

I will tell you for free that the end of the summer has not been the easiest for Anika and I. She has a lot of attitude and entitlement these days, and she’s taking a lot of insecurity and uncertainty out on me. I know that much of it is age appropriate and whatever but….it’s still hard to take. And age appropriate or not, it’s not okay and it’s my job as her mom to show her why it’s not okay. Repeatedly. Over and freaking over again.

We had some great times this summer too. She swam like a fish….well, a slightly lethargic goldfish maybe, but she’s getting there. She rides her bike all over the place now – the two wheels are something she only conquered at the beginning of the summer. She’s made a ton of progress on her reading.

She graduated from Montessori.

And now Grade 1.

She was pretty nervous this morning, but I watched her steel herself and get on the bus, even though she didn’t know anyone. I watched her sit down in her seat, right behind the bus driver. I watched her drive away. I met her at school when she got off the bus (I needed to make sure she got to her teacher okay) – and she gripped my hand so tightly it just about cut off the circulation. We stood and met her teacher. She knows a boy in her class, but none of the girls, and she’s worried about that. I tell her it will be fine and she will meet people. I know that doesn’t make it immediately easier though.

She said “Goodbye mom, see you after school” and she got into line with the rest of the class. I watched her face start to crumple a little, and I watched her hide her face in her hands. Then I watched her take a big breath, turn and smile at me and tell me to say goodbye to Sam for her.
My heart is supposed to break a little with stuff like this right?

I’m counting the seconds till she gets home.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    September 4, 2012 2:51 pm

    It has gone by so so so fast. She’ll do great, I’m sure!:o) Go Ani!! – it’s not the first or last time she’ll be walking into a new situation:o) Adorable pics! Love her backpack – where did you get it?! Oh, and the repeating? Drives. me. crazy. When does it stop?;o)

    • September 4, 2012 10:48 pm

      Thanks Ang – backpack is Hanna Andersson. LOVE their stuff so much!!! And yes and amen to the repeating….sigh. ;).

      • Angela permalink
        September 5, 2012 11:31 am

        so sos sso cute! If and when Ava needs a bigger backpack – I’m checking there!:o)

  2. September 4, 2012 2:51 pm

    I bet you had trouble even keying that in…sniff. I am sure she will be happy to come home and tell you all about it – amazing how these milestones mean so much! So, when exactly will we be wiping you off the floor, for Sam when he goes to his first day? (PS: don’t look at me!) She’ll be home soon. XOX

  3. Hubby permalink
    September 4, 2012 3:05 pm

    Although this is fashioned under Anikdotes, I really think you should ammend the post to include Sam’s goodbye tribute to his sister.

  4. Teemo permalink
    September 4, 2012 4:36 pm

    Sammo looks pretty upset with the whole ordeal too!

    “koona, tata, koona, tata”

  5. Shelly permalink
    September 4, 2012 4:44 pm

    She’ll meet new friends, she will handle a lot of new beginnings in her brave, excitting, Anika way.

  6. September 4, 2012 6:31 pm

    Atta girl. Love you, Miss A. Hope you had a wonderful first day! And don’t forget to remind Mom to show you pictures of my new apartment. You will love it. xoxo

  7. September 4, 2012 10:29 pm

    I hope she came home full of excitement about her first day of first grade!!

  8. September 4, 2012 10:30 pm

    A big day for Ani! Hope everything went well (for both of you)! We were hoping to try to get together with your gang again before end of summer but … yeah… so maybe we can get together later this month and we can ask Ani all about the new school in person! 🙂

Leave a Reply

