Skip to content

Finished Sweater!!

September 13, 2012

So remember a loooong time ago when I told you I was making this?

Yeah, me neither. But look, I finally finished it!!

I really really love this sweater. I love how it knit up; I love how it looks on – it’s going to be so useful for the fall. I’m really delighted with it.

I also still completely adore the colour….it’s just perfect.

I find I really go through seasons with knitting – much more so than with sewing. I generally try to do my sewing in the afternoons, when the boy is napping, and keep the evenings more for knitting….but that totally does not work when I have a deadline I’m working towards, or when I get all fired up about a project (never happens; don’t know what you’re talking about. Ahem.).

But as soon as fall starts to kick in I absolutely start itching to knit – there is nothing in the world more exciting than a “new” knitting project to start – I really love it. So being able to block this sweater and have it done just as the weather is starting to turn….the timing is perfect. By about Thanksgiving the timing will be exactly right to cast on my next project. Can’t wait!!!

In the meantime I’m totally going to enjoy this one. I love it

For those who care about such things, this pattern is Narragansett by Thea Coleman. I knit the size 34 but I have a really tight tension so I knew the finished product was going to be closer to a 32-33 post blocking (which is true! And also totally why you should swatch). I made a few small modifications – I did an extra inch or so on the armscye to get it to fit me properly, and I also made the sleeves 12″ from the armhole instead of the suggested 8  – I tried it at 8 initially and the sleeves hit right in the crook of my elbow and looked funny. Maybe I have long arms?? No idea. But anyway, that modification worked fine for me, and I think looks pretty close to the original. Totally make one – it’s fun; just interesting enough; and quick (despite the fact that it took me more than 6 months to complete. Am slow.).

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2012 2:29 pm

    I think the detail on that sweater is beautiful. I wonder if coming off the shoulder would bother me at all – it has a lot of body, so perhaps it just stays put?? You did a lovely job on it, and I would love to try it, when I’m finished my project! (I need way more than six months though….I guess you knew that! ) Good work, hon!

  2. September 13, 2012 5:22 pm

    Ooo that is SO lovely! The colour is just gorgeous too.

    I also love Sam’s backpack. Jessica has the pink mouse in the same line!

  3. September 14, 2012 6:21 pm

    The sweater is really pretty!

  4. Hubby permalink
    September 17, 2012 9:23 am

    Lovely sweater. You looked great in it Saturday morning!

Leave a Reply

