Skip to content

Catch Up in Pictures.

October 14, 2012

I have been remarkably off balance lately, in just about everything. I don’t know if it’s getting used to the new routine (school, dance, Sparks, more dance, skating, life group, leading courses, #headdesk), or simply me finding my place in the new routine. I’ve found I’m in a place where I feel like I’m spending a lot of my time rotating people in and out of the door and kind of just…facilitating other people to go out and be awesome. I’m finding myself left in the dust a little bit, and as much as I love seeing my family grow and stretch I know that I need to be doing that too. It’s just a matter of figuring out how and where and in what ways.

Apparently in wrestling all of this to the ground I’ve lost my bloggy voice. I have a lot of things I want to share though so I’m going to try to catch up a bit!

I’ll start slow and share some pictures from the last few weeks. It’s been pretty fun!

Sam still firmly loves all things animal.

He’s also very proud of his new medic alert “dacet!” which you can see in this picture. It has giraffes on it. He’s delighted.

Sam and I have made some trips out to the farm lately (Canadian Agriculture Museum to be precise). It’s got so that pretty much every day he asks me “Go see Sosies? Tows? Sheeps? Chicken?”

Totally amused by the ducks playing in the water bucket.

Admiring the rabbit with his friend Ava, who very thoughtfully colour-coordinated with Sam.

Angela gets full credit for this picture because she had to hold both kids up so they could reach!

We’ve been trying hard to enjoy the last few nice, warmish days of the year by heading to the park when we can….it’s getting cold fast!

Sam’s pants are a bit of a teaser – I’ll share a post about those in the coming days!

We’ve also been trying to find time to spend with some of the really close friends we don’t get to see as much. Anika and Maliah are in different schools now (booo)….

….and Karan went back to work so Sam’s almost daily playdates with Aidan are not happening so much anymore. Fortunately Sam’s mornings at Montessori are with A so he does get to see him a little bit…but it’s not the same, for sure.

Last weekend Brandon went on a hiking/camping trip so I took the kids to go visit Upper Canada Village.

We had a really great day – I had never been there but what a fun place to go!!! It was beautiful with the leaves, and Anika in particular LOVED seeing all of the old houses and hearing about life in the 1800s.

The interiors of the houses were a little lost on Sam – he’s a bit young to understand that he really can’t touch things, and he can’t really follow when the people were trying to explain quilting or chair making in the 1800s. But he loved being outside, and would happily sit on the porches while we went in and had a look.

He was also delighted to find out that there was a working farm at one side of the village, complete with not only “tows”….

….but also 5 little piglets who were happily running around and would let the kids pet them and feed them chunks of lettuce!

Probably Sam’s favourite part of the trip! Anika, bless her, liked the dressmakers and was THRILLED to tell them that she knew how to sew too. She also was really interested in the doctor’s house and grasped right away how people would have bartered for services.

It really has been a lovely fall so far, if busy. We wrapped things up this weekend by attending a lovely wedding for some friends’ of ours, Lisa and Stephen. They totally deserve their own post though, so I’ll share more about them and their special day really soon. But here’s one shot of Anika, doing the flower girl thing!

I am hoping to share more in the coming weeks….stay tuned!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    October 15, 2012 1:56 am

    Just wanted to say thanks for recording history as it happens. The pics are great!

  2. Robin permalink
    October 15, 2012 7:31 am

    Blogging can be so unrewarding when no one comments on your posts…believe me, I know! I kept checking back to see if you’d posted. Your pictures are beautiful! Glad you’re back!

  3. October 15, 2012 9:14 am

    Looks like you have been having fun over the last few weeks!

    I’m sorry that you’ve been feeling a bit lost lately. When you wear a lot of hats (wife, mother, daughter, friend, colleague, leader,etc.) it can be hard to remember who ME is. I hope that the coming months bring balance and contentment back and that you find that blogging voice. I’ve missed hearing (reading) your viewpoint.:)

  4. Suanne St. Charles permalink
    October 15, 2012 7:40 pm

    Oh Christy what gorgeous pictures!! They’re just lovely. And I can’t wait to see the wedding blog – that picture of Ani was to die for!!! Love Susie

  5. October 20, 2012 8:55 am

    Cindy said it perfectly. And I know how you feel, in a different way… I am glad you have your amazing blog (which I showed to some girlfriends last night – Sam’s rocket pack was a hit!), so don’t forget… We are all watching this space! xo

Leave a Reply

