Skip to content

London Pants!!

October 16, 2012

About a month ago I was really lucky to be included in a group of pattern testers, testing out the London Pants pattern from Petite Kids Boutique.

If you haven’t seen it before, there are some AWESOME patterns available there – just gorgeous. Definitely worth checking out! You can find her on Facebook or on Etsy.

Can I tell you how much fun I had making these pants?? They are GREAT. They are SO cute, and they have a really great funky vibe to them. I really really like the finished product.

Anika told me she really likes pink and black together these days, so for hers I got some black twill and used hot pink buttons, thread, and contrast fabric for the cuffs.

I made her a Size 5, which fit her perfectly – if anything it was a little big in the waist, but that’s pretty typical for my kids. The length of the 5 was dead on for her though – maybe even a little too perfect? If I was making them again I might consider lengthening them just slightly. But they are great for right now!

(That’s if she agrees to wear them of course. Girl is SO BEYOND STUBBORN when it comes to her clothes – OY).

I made Sam’s out of black denim. I used the black and white seersucker as the lining fabric and orange topstitching.

I made the Size 2 for him, and they are definitely too big. Rolled up they fit him like pants rather than crops. But again, that’s Sam – he’s not a big guy; he’s starting to reach a point where he kind of fits into his “age” for clothes but pants are still hit and miss. He has a bunch of 12-18 month pairs that fit him beautifully except that they are too short. He has some Size 2’s that he can’t keep up. The boy is a mystery to me really – but I love these pants so much that I might make him a second pair in the size down until he grows into the next ones!

I can’t recommend this pattern more. The attention to detail is AMAZING and each step is so clearly laid out. The finished product is professional looking and so well constructed – they really are fantastic. The pants are sized from 12m to 8 years, and they work for both boys and girls which is like CRAZY bonus for me! And I’m willing to bet that based on the cut of the pants you could extend the pattern beyond 8 years just by lengthening a bit. DEFINITELY worth a try.

They are great fun – if you’re in the market for a good pants pattern, check this out for sure!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2012 1:16 pm

    Love these pants! All the details really make them unique. Anika’s black and pink pair are beyond cute! You did a fabulous job sewing them.:)

  2. October 16, 2012 1:58 pm

    These look adorable on the kids! Love the colours…

  3. October 16, 2012 7:20 pm

    Oh blargh! Got all excited as thought you might actually be IN London! These look so cute and also practical (not an easy combo to pull off!) My kids both have very small waists and quite short legs so ‘store’ trousers are not an easy thing to find. Perhaps I may start sewing as I always threaten to. Just need to finish my enormous cross stitch project first!

  4. October 16, 2012 8:42 pm

    Love them! Will definitely have to check them out — I’m on the hunt for an amazing go-to pants pattern (so far without as much luck as I had hoped…).

  5. Angela permalink
    October 17, 2012 2:45 pm

    These are adorable pants – even if Sam’s will fit him into college;0) bonus! Cute colour combos too!

  6. Hubby permalink
    October 23, 2012 1:49 pm

    I know it’s a bit late, but great post. I love the second last picture. You can see how slim Sam is across the shoulders and waist. Plus I love that you’ve captured some late summer in the pics. Boy I miss summer already 😉

Leave a Reply

