Skip to content

Life, and another Pattern Test

November 4, 2012

So you know, sometimes I think “Wow, I have all these posts to write for the blog!” and then I even make a list of them and then inevitably, SO MUCH LIFE happens that they only ever get written in my head.

I look at things like this whole “NaNoBloPo” month (one post a day for a month) and I think “gee….that must be an interesting experiment and really get the creative juices going, but also? HAH. No.”

I actually think that I would maybe stand a chance if it happened to be in, say, February or March – a month that is suitably drab with nothing really pressing at the end of it (like, say Christmas!) but November? Uh…no.
Life continues apace here in the Bhat-Cave. I keep wanting to sew more – I have patterns printed and cut out for at least four things, and I am desperately wanting to buy this pattern and make it (you can make it with different sleeves and as a tunic length as well, and seriously it looks just DELIGHTFUL)…but I need to knock a few things off the to-do list first and I just keep running out of minutes.

I did get a chance to do another pattern test recently, for the lovely Petite Kids Boutique. This time it was the Ella Dress!

 

This is a really fun dress – it’s designed to be a sundress (and it’s adorable that way too) – but because the back is tied the way it it, you can adjust it to easily accommodate a long sleeve t-shirt underneath it (definitely important when it’s November and you live here!).

The dress is adorable and REALLY easy to sew. The skirt is full and bouncy and all kinds of fun.

As usual the attention to detail in these patterns is great – it really walks you through how to produce a great finished product.

I’d asked Anika to put a long sleeve shirt on underneath it before we headed to the farm to take pictures. I neglected to notice that she put a shirt with really bright owls on the front of it though. Whoops. Oh well – she was delighted with the whole thing.

Check it out – it’s a really fun dress!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2012 8:04 am

    Sweet pictures of Ani – tell her I have the same problem; need the perfect plain white top with long sleeves to go under things! I love the dress you are going to make yourself too, Chris.

  2. November 5, 2012 8:08 am

    The dress is darling!

  3. Angela permalink
    November 5, 2012 12:18 pm

    Love the way the dress turned out! It looks nice and adjustable too, so I’ll work great for next summer too.

Leave a Reply

