Skip to content

Sammo.

December 16, 2012

I know. I know I know I know. Blog silence. Boo.

Very sorry. It’s just that….well, life. And other things. I started a small business. (I’m now an Independent Consultant for Arbonne. The products are awesome. It’s a fun mental game to see what I can do with this. Also? Taking a lot of time. But that’s par for the course I guess.)

So I’m breaking my radio silence with a brief Sam story.

Sam is….very very VERY “two” these days. Extra two. With a side order of tantrum. It’s….trying. But he’s also really fun and pretty articulate for his age, which means we’re treated to a lot of discourse on just about anything. He seems to have accents for particular words that pretty much slay us – he doesn’t pronounce his “ings” properly, preferring instead to adopt the more southern “ins” for the end of words.

For example, I picked him up from school the other day and he had a gash on his cheek. I said “Sam, what happened?” He said “I was wunnin’ in the cyassyoom. Miss Yisa says NO NO Sam. No wunnin’. We wun outside.” (Clearly he also has trouble with L’s and R’s at this stage in the game.)

He also adopts wonderful turns of phrase that are all his own – one of my favourites is “Last mornin’.” It’s like when you say “Last night I did X” only for Sam it’s “Last mornin’.” So I’ll say “Hey Sammo, where’s your ball?” And he’ll say “Um. I don’t know. I was playin’ with it last mornin’.”

It’s completely adorable. Where was I going with this? Oh right.

So the other day, one of us left the door to the pantry ajar and Sam wandered in. We generally try to keep it closed so as not to risk any craziness with food allergy boy – but we were in the kitchen at the time and didn’t really worry much about it.

We left him for a minute or so, hearing some rustlings, and then finally said “Sam, what are you doing in there?” and opened the door.

20121210_123002

He was standing in the middle, clutching a package of those Welch’s fruit snacks, which for some unknown reason we just call “fruit things” in our house. They are those gummy fruit snacky things.

I said sternly, “Sam, you need to put those away. We aren’t having fruit things right now.” He says, completely outraged that I might be thinking the worst of him “I just singin’ a song!!” and then…he burst into song. I didn’t get it recorded because I’m not that fast with the cell phone (darn it!) but it went something like this:

“Boot thiiiiiings……boot thiiiings. BOOT THIIIIIIINGS. Boot thiiiiiings.”

(F’s are also hit and miss.)

20121210_122951

(Sorry for crappy phone pictures – there wasn’t a lot of time to grab the DSLR).

While he’s singing he is swaying gently on the spot looking completely earnest and for all the world like a Christmas caroler in a Normal Rockwell painting (less creepy, but no less earnest).

13212246

Then he turned around, put the “Boot things” back in the box, looked back at us and said “I all done.”

I seriously fear for when this kid has things he REALLY wants to be covering up.

In other news, this was Miss Anika’s letter to Santa:

20121215_152847

She’s working on her writing and I am working on not correcting her at every pass so you know – it is what it is for the moment. (Her reading is coming along amazingly well though, so you know). I especially enjoy the picture of her and Santa at the bottom. And apparently the Lego years are upon us.

She turns 6 on Thursday. I don’t want to talk about it. (But I probably will. A lot. Because you know what we promised her waaaay back when she was like 2? That she could have earrings when she turned 6. Guess what we’re doing at 5pm on Thursday?? Hold me.)

For those keeping score at home, I HAVE in fact been sewing. Christmas presents mostly. Stay tuned for some pictures.

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ChaCha permalink
    December 17, 2012 3:12 am

    BOOT THINGS! I LOVE BOOT THINGS TOO!!!!

  2. December 17, 2012 9:37 am

    He’s such a cutie! (and what a great cover up that was…clever fella) Lego Friends are a big hit here too. Though, I’m contantly having to rescue various parts that end up in the vacuum. The flowers are the biggest culprit.

    Don’t apologize about not blogging! This is your place to share as much and as often (or not!) that you want to. Good luck with the Arbonne business!

  3. Hubby permalink
    December 17, 2012 11:56 am

    I love how he is not only holding fruit things, but delicately cradling a jar of ballpark mustard (see blurry picture). We really should purchase an audio recorder and capture the essence of Sam. I still have a magnetic audio tape of my brother creating stories about Michael Jackson and the Three Bears or Timmy’s Mommy, the Piano Teacher. Priceless.

  4. Angela permalink
    December 21, 2012 7:02 am

    I love the creative spelling! It is so funny and they aren’t asking you every second of the day “how do you spell…? “What’s next, what’s next”? She probably spells better than me already. So, I really hope you update said blog soon, bcc ause I’m dying to see Ani with her new earrings! Hope things went well yesterday!

  5. Angela permalink
    December 21, 2012 7:05 am

    I also LOVE the preschooler songs:0) at least you are writing these thins down so you won’t forget:0D

Leave a Reply

