Skip to content

SoooOOOoooo.

May 16, 2013

You know that thing that happens where you have a major life thing going on and it’s too early to really talk about it, and then you wait and wait and wait some more, and then maybe you can share about it but you aren’t sure, and then you finally think “Okay I can share now” only it’s been SO DARN LONG since you updated the blog that you no longer quite know where to start? And besides that you haven’t been sewing anything anyway because nooo tiiiime and mostly people come here to see about the sewing anyway?

HI THAT IS ME. YOU ARE WELCOME.

Lets jump right in shall we? I haven’t been here because I’ve been busy growing things. These things, to be specific.

babies

(Please admire my horrific at the park self-portrait. It’s pretty awesome.)

Want a closer look? SURE.

ultrasound_0001

In case you aren’t sure that would be two whole babies in there. At the same time. Both at once.

CRAZY. And also wonderful and awesome and amazing. We couldn’t be more thrilled. We’ve had a kind of complicated pregnancy history so to have two healthy babies that appear to be completely fine and growing fine is nothing short of miraculous. It is going to be AWESOME.

We learned a few weeks ago that the twins (fraternal) are both girls, which is also REALLY fun – we like girls. Poor Sam is going to be surrounded by women, but as a good friend pointed out, he’s going to be an awesome husband one day! He’ll be fine I’m sure :).

So as you can imagine there’s been a lot of fallout from the whole two babies at once thing – mostly the rather stark realization that our three bedroom townhouse is *probably* not going to cut it with 4 children. So we have found another house and are working on selling ours and will hopefully move at the end of June. Our babies are technically due Sept 8, but based on my history and the fact that twins generally come early anyway we’re expecting to deliver them around 36 weeks – so maybe the second week of August. But we’re going to watch and see what happens. Hopefully we can keep them in there that long and things will be good.

I am finally feeling better and able to function a little bit, and I have a ton of projects lined up in my head that I want to work on….but the practicalities of staging a house and packing and all the rest of it are making it hard to actually get anywhere with that. But I’ll try! In the meantime I’ll check in here a little more often (though it will probably be a little more “life stuff” and a little less sewing for the next while….but then, HELLO – two little girls to sew for!).

Feel free to check in periodically and remind me that I can totally handle this – I’m probably going to need the reassurance! But I really do think it’s going to be great fun.

Thanks for being patient the last few months – I’ve missed this space!!

OH HEY – you know what? I did sew something. A dress. For a wombat. Anika’s class mascot. Obviously.

Newdress

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2013 7:05 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! That is some seriously, freaking awesome news!! I’m so happy for you and your family.:)

    • May 16, 2013 10:54 pm

      Thanks Cindy!! I am excited – I thought of you right away since our family is going to look kinda like yours now – I was thinking I might need your son to send Sam some sage advice about “Life with all the girls!” when he’s a bit older!

  2. May 16, 2013 7:18 pm

    Okay, so this is a great post. Well done you!!! Welcome back.

  3. May 16, 2013 9:53 pm

    Well done, you! It’ll be fantastic and at some moments hectic and there might be some crying (them and you), but mostly fantastic. I have a good sense about these things.
    ~Miss Greenish Thumb~

    • May 16, 2013 10:56 pm

      Thank you for the encouragement! We really are thrilled. I think this will be a blast. But I definitely appreciate it when other people willingly weigh in and say things like “No really, this is great!” Thank you!

  4. May 17, 2013 5:29 pm

    It IS great! I was just about to write to this morning and here you are! In Google reader! You (and the girls) look lovely. And the wombat. In her dress. That is above and beyond the call of duty!

  5. Angela permalink
    May 23, 2013 11:52 am

    Such wonderful news – it’s going to be so much fun for all of you! Congratulations! The dress for wombat looks familiar!:)

Leave a Reply

