Skip to content

Buffles

June 11, 2014

Buffles – a word my brother-in-law invented to describe butt ruffles on baby clothes. Obviously.

DSC_0613

I’m knee-deep in 4th birthday party planning, Olaf style, over here but wanted to share some pictures from a couple of rompers I made for the twins a couple of weeks ago.

DSC_0628

Amy of Peekaboo Pattern Shop fame put  out a call for photography – she wanted some of the pictures of her older patterns updated. I decided I needed a challenge/kick in the butt so I signed up to do the romper.

DSC_0623

This is a totally fun pattern and a really quick and easy sew. I love them on the girls. I think I didn’t get the sizing exactly right – based on their chest measurement the girls still fit into a newborn size, but they needed additional length. I added the length and it was fine but I actually think I should have just made the size up. The chest piece is pretty tiny, and while it might have been a bit big on them I don’t think it would have been that noticeable given that the back of the romper is open.

DSC_0630

I’ll definitely make these again – I’m a big fan of quick and easy outfits for them, and these work for sure.

DSC_0654

Amy’s patterns are great – quick and straightforward, even if you are a complete beginner sewer. One of my favourite things about her is that she’s fearless – she’s not afraid to tackle any kind of pattern it seems. (She has patterns for everything from party dresses to underwear to bathing suits listed in her shop. It’s pretty impressive). Definitely recommend checking them out!

DSC_0622

Plus. Dude. Buffles.

DSC_0664

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    June 12, 2014 12:53 am

    Tim now has 14 minutes of fame left after those buffles accolades. Love the jowls on Lucy =)

  2. Mom permalink
    June 12, 2014 2:08 pm

    Love these! And buffles is a perfect name for them. I would like to know how many diapers you had to put on Lucy, to bulk up her tushy that much!!!? She does not look too impressed with this exercise though…amazing they didn’t protest being in the grass! Colours were gorgeous. Looking forward to seeing them in these little sunsuits this weekend! Xox. Lovely job, hon.

Leave a Reply

