Skip to content

One Whole Year.

July 16, 2014

On Friday the babies turned 1.

BabyBdayPicMonkey Collage

Yep. A whole year. A whole year that we survived.

ProudLucy

I kind of can’t believe it’s been an entire year already. Also, it’s been the longest year of our lives.

photo-35 It’s been more challenging than I ever would have thought possible. It’s been more rewarding than I ever would have believed.

photo-32

I learned how to nurse two babies at the same time, to build supply for two….even in the woods.

Nursing

I was brave enough to stop nursing one of them when it became clear that it was hurting her more than helping her. Now I tell people who are nosy enough to ask that I’m doing an experiment – bottle feeding one, and nursing the other. It amuses me.

Lulu

I learned that for however much I might have stressed about sleep when the older two were small, really babies can adapt to anything – even a sibling throwing a crib party six inches from their head.

sleeping

I learned about what it feels like to bring babies home from the NICU.

TaliaNICU

I learned about how much love and maturity my older two are capable of.

kidsI learned that sometimes accepting help is really really necessary.

photo-37

I learned that weekly coffee dates with friends is REALLY necessary to survival….and that friends who will tolerate your refluxy babies spitting up on them with grace and humour are about the best thing ever.

playfloor

I learned (kind of?) how to balance the needs of big kids and babies….though I have to relearn that one a LOT.

swinging

I learned where just about every clinic office is at the Children’s hospital, and I learned EXACTLY how good they are there.

photo-36I learned that we are tough – that we can get things done and have fun together….even in the midst of the hard.

photo-38

I discovered a whole new layer of love for my husband.

BrandonNICU

It’s been a year. There will be so many details I forget…which baby it was in the NICU that would. not. take. a bottle; which baby loved baths; which baby hated them. But I will never forget what it’s felt like to watch my family stretch and grow and rise, sometimes clumsily, to the challenge of raising these two babies.

Family

Happy birthday girls. We love you SO much.

bdaypose

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2014 12:13 pm

    Maw. :3 Truly lovely. Happy Birthday, girls. 🙂

  2. July 16, 2014 12:24 pm

    Happy Birthday to the girls and congrats to the entire family for surviving year one! It only gets better from here 🙂

  3. July 16, 2014 1:58 pm

    Such sweethearts! We have had so much fun with them – and it’s only the beginning.

  4. Hubby permalink
    July 16, 2014 3:39 pm

    Amazing set of pictures. I truly feel transported through the past year, minus the weariness =D

  5. July 16, 2014 3:44 pm

    Wow. Yes. Congrats! So much congratulations. You did way more than survive though! You supported Anika through grade 2 homework and took her to all her dance classes… even making it to the show! You kept Sam home for an impressive 3 days / week and kept him from seriously injuring himself! You had people over every week and made food for them almost every time. (Seriously, how did you do that?) Oh yes, and you moved. 8 days before babies….! You got through the many many doctors visits, through rain & sleet & crazy snowstorms, and got the girls to gain weight-which for some reason they did not seem inclined to do at first. They are healthy & happy and almost edible they are so cute. And then.. when most would say, “Hey, that’s good enough…”, you went to the gym & saw friends & even SEWED! You got me into sewing too, which I never thought would happen. Anyhoo, I’m sure I’m skipping loads of stuff, but it has indeed been a year. Cheers to many more (though less stressful/sleep deprived/doctor-filled)!

  6. Kelly Lo permalink
    July 17, 2014 10:09 pm

    Thanks for sharing CMB! You have a beautiful family 🙂 Here’s to another amazing and eventful (…and hopefully slightly more restful) year. xx

    • July 17, 2014 10:28 pm

      Thank you! I think they are fun…crazy kids. And amen to another amazing more restful year! You guys too.

  7. July 19, 2014 4:50 pm

    You guys are AMAZING.
    Love seeing you all together. Love that pic of your hubby in the hospital.

Leave a Reply

